Mothering Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,048 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, here is the situation. I have 4 kids. The oldest is 8 and I nursed him until he was 9 months old. At age 4 he was diagnosed with Autism. My oldest dd is 5 and I only nursed her for a month because she was tongue tied and I didn't know or have any support. She is totally normal for her age. I nursed my 2 y/o until she was 18 months old and she has a severe speech delay. I have been nursing my baby for 5 1/2 months and I am terrified that if I continue to nurse her that she will have some sort of developemental delay as well.

I want to do what is best for her, but is my milk really best? HELP!!!!

·
Registered
976 Posts
I know it's hard when you have older children with special needs and ones that don't. You second guess everything you do and compare what you did with one that you didn't do with the other trying to figure out what went wrong. Sometimes it's not that easy, especially with Autism and other developmental delays. I sometimes wonder if my step-son, who has Autism isn't that way because of medications his mother was on during pregnancy, the way she treated him before she took off, or if it had something to do with the formula he was on... (Or vaccines, meds, multiple moves, and on and on). I'm scared I'm having a boy and whatever genetic triggers are from my husband's side and end up with two special needs children. Our daughter is neurotypical, so I feel pretty confident there. We do the best we can with our children and sometimes we make mistakes. I just don't believe breastfeeding is one of them except in cases of galactosemia. (SP?)