Mothering Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tuesday, I had a Big Mac and french fries.
Yesterday, a Mexican pizza.
Just now, I finished polishing off a big hamburger and chicken nuggets.
I know my baby deserves better food than this but I have no self control anymore.
I guess having stress from family issues is making this worse too.

·
Registered
1,318 Posts
I am the same way, especially when dh is out of town. I have been living off chocolate donuts ever since he left a week and a half ago.
: Don't be too hard on yourself, know that your body makes sure that the baby gets what he/she needs first, so really you have been giving yourself a bunch of junk. I am an expert at justification soooo your baby is getting plenty of protien.

·
Registered
1,610 Posts
How far along are you?

I think we crave foods for a lot of reasons. I often want junk, but then I figure out what it is that I'm really needing. A Big Mac is just flat-out a lot of calories, and protein. That beef has a lot of iron. Maybe have a homemade burger instead, with lots of veggie toppings and a whole wheat bun? The fries could be because you're craving salty food. Have you ever had edamame?

Mexican pizza doesn't even have to be bad. Again, it's more salt, lots of protein (beans and cheese). Maybe make one yourself, with a whole wheat tortilla and load it up with veggies. Do you like avocado?

Skip the chicken nuggests in favor of *real* chicken.

You really do need the calories and the fat and the protein, it's just a question of delivering them to your body in a healthier way.

·
Registered
635 Posts