Mothering Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been wishing for a woodstove for a few years, and the past two weeks had me really pining for a Jotul. I'd gotten the newest brochures, but after discussing the $ with DH, we decided that we couldn't get one this year. We hated the thought of the propane bills this winter, but without the money to invest in a stove, we agreed to wait.

This morning, I opened to the classified section of our small town paper, thinking "Yeah, right -as if there would be a woodstove in there!" Well...first ad, first item...'Jotul Woodstove $150'.
I waited till 9am, and then called & found that the stove was still there & I could come & have a look at it. To my joy, when I arrived at the farm where it 'lived' (Ooh, how I wish I could have had the farm, too! It was beautiful!) it was the Jotul 3 that I had imagined sitting in our brick fireplace/hearth! Wheee! Another $10 secured the delivery of my little stove this week. The older couple who had it didn't use it the past two winters as the husband had back problems & couldn't chop, split & stack the wood anymore. It was stored in the mudroom, and as the flooring in the kitchen & mudroom was to be replaced, the wife wanted it out.

I am so excited! We still have to arrange to have it installed. Presently, we have a cast iron propane insert installed in the brick woodburning fireplace. We'll need to have the chimney inspected, I suppose, as well as new stovepipe & all of that. Gosh, fireplace acessories, a cord of wood, a cast iron kettle...

Still! It has a cooktop! Yay! http://www.jotul.us/content/products...e____3091.aspx

·
Registered
6,359 Posts
Yay for your new wood stove! Yes, having a cooktop is a nice insurance policy against icky weather. We haven't had to use ours yet as a cooktop, but we could.