Mothering Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7,801 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What to make?
:

Right now I have a chuck roast thawing. I don't know what the heck to do with a chuck roast

I was a veggie for about 8 years, so I have been warming up to beef over the past few years, but I am by no means a proficient in cooking it.Please help! I've got some beets to fry up, and salad to go along with. Or some zucchini's. Give me suggestions for cooking it please!

For the record, we don't have a grill yet, but I can assure you we will be getting one very very soon

·
Registered
1,853 Posts
Chuck roast needs slow, wet cooking. It's great for pot roast. I do it in a crock pot. Expect it to take a good 6-8 hours in a crock pot, less in an oven, but you can't rush the cooking on cuts like chuck or rump roast because they'll be too tough. Cook until fork tender. Sorry, don't have time for more specific instructions, but a search should turn up good recipes.

·
Registered
7,801 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
drats
maybe i'll use my ground beef tonight for burgers and have the chuck roast tommorow for lunch

·
Registered
4,216 Posts
When I do a chuck roast (or rump, or blade, or similar cut), I trim the fat, cut it in largish chunks, then sear it in a hot cast iron pan. Then I take it off the heat, put whole baby carrots, a handful of smallish red potatoes, (or larger cubed potatoes), onion (usually in large chunks), maybe some celery. Season with garlic powder (unless you put fresh garlic in with the other veggies), salt, pepper, parsley, oregano, or whatever. Add maybe 1/2 to 1 cup water or broth, depending on how soupy you like things.

I bake it in the oven for at least 2 hours, sometimes as long as 4 or 5 (depends on if I get sidetracked!) in a 300F oven.