Mothering Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
831 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So there's a work-related trip coming up in a few weeks that runs from a Thurs afternoon to a Sun night. Dd will be 19 months. She feeds 3-4x a day, but if I'm not around (I'm a midwifery student and out working sometimes day or night) she's fine without it - even to go to sleep at night.
She and my partner could come with me - I'll be working all day, every day we are there, and maybe some of the nights. My partner thinks I should go without them (he's taken the time off work and can be with dd 24/7). It's a 2 hour drive away.
Dd has gone 3 days before without breastfeeding (I had eczema on my nipples and needed it to heal) and was pretty grumpy, but mostly I think because I was *there* but wouldn't (couldn't) feed her. My supply was/is low as I am pregnant but it seems to not be affected much by breaks in breastfeeding.

Looking for supportive advice/stories.
My gut says it would probably be ok. . .
But if you think it's a terrible idea - hey, let me know too.

thanks!

·
Registered
171 Posts
I am going thru an almost the same situation! My DS will be 19 months when I have a work trip, and I can't bear the thought of leaving for 4 days. DS is VERY addicted to his milk, and I think I've decided to have them come with me, even though I'll only see them at night and nurse at night. On the other hand, he would be FINE if I left him home. Hmmm...

·
Registered
979 Posts
I just recently went out my first ever trip without my DS--also 19 months. I was gone for 2 nights/3 days. I was FREAKING out about it for weeks, but you know what? It was fine! I think it was a good experience for my whole family--- I rediscovered a little of myself, my husband got some 1 on 1 time with our son, and we all saw what was possible.