Mothering Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I want to get some additional opinions on leaving high school early to study somewhere else.

I am a 17 year old girl in NZ currently in year 12 (second to last year at school). I do not enjoy school, I used to but I find I am not interested in anything we do in class and find my self zoning out or not paying attention. I tend to pick things up well and am getting solid Bs and a few As (aiming for mostly As in final exams which are in November). After these exams, providing I don't bomb out, I will have university entrance already. I have am very interested in horses, I have been riding for about 10 years now and working through the Pony Club system of certificates (internationally recognized) and will be going for the highest level in January which not very many people make it to.

I am wanting to leave school at the end of this year to move 3/4 hours south to do a one year diploma in equine (I am looking at courses there are ones for riding, stable assistant, and coaching so still not 100% which one/s I will do as you may do 2 although it is tough). I love the look of the place and the courses and think I will do well in it and try as it is something I really love.

I have not yet asked my parents about leaving school early as they will probably just freak out and say no instantly. I did, however, sit them down today and show them the prospectus and other information of the school and although they weren't totally convinced (they are very eager for me to go to university because my brother did and he really enjoyed it but I don't think I will) but seemed interested. I am planning on getting them on board with the school itself before asking about leaving as I know throwing it all at them seemingly from no where (although I have been thinking about it for a couple of months) is not going to work.