Mothering Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So here's my story. I've been a graduate student in clinical psych. for the past 6 years. I finished up my classes while pregnant, and have been at home with my dd this past year, while also working on my dissertation. In 2 and a little bit months I'm going on my internaship (last degree requirement). My little one (12 months currently) will be at home with my dh and/or his family (we're moving in with my in-laws). So I know my little one will be in a safe and loving environemnt, with people who care about her.

But I'd love some advice/ reassurace on how to manage my own transition from other working mamas out there.

1)We're still breastfeeding, but it seems mostly for dd comfort and to help settle her at night. I'm still torn on whether to wean or try to pump. Work is sooooooooooo not conducive to pumping. There is one bathroom in the whole building, and I'm sharing a tiny office with two other people. I'm not sure whether breastfeeding just in the evenings and during the night will keep any supply up at all. Any advice/ stories about being able to day wean and breastfeed at night (my preferred option).

2)What are things I can do to help with my separation anxiety since sharing lunches are out (I'm working 50 miles from where I'll be living)? I'll be gone ten hours a day and that's an awfully dramatic change from being home all the time.

3) I'd love to hear stories about how other people sucessfully! managed the transition back to work, and what they did that helped them and their little ones.

·
Premium Member
16,735 Posts
I have to work now bc i am seperated
The transition was hard bc i went from very part time to more full time . the hardest part is not being able to get togrther with friends and their kids except on a limited basis.

When DD was a nursling, she made up for it all night. I was only very pt then.