Mothering Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
673 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got any? DD is a little over 2.5 yo. We have a loooong car trip coming up next month. We're prepared to go slow, take breaks, etc. We also have an old portable DVD player that we can rig up--I'm loathe to use it though as I'm trying to keep her TV time low & would rather engage her in the sites & sounds of the trip.

Any audio cds, books on tape that you suggest?
Favorite healthy travel snacks?
Timing ideas?
Other hints?

Thanks!

·
Registered
5,143 Posts
I read a hint online a while ago that may help. It's geared towards littler kids, but it could be adapted to a toddler as well.

String a clothesline across the car, held up by the windows. Use clothespins to attach amusing toys to it. You could also attach a pouch for crayons or a small book. Change the toys at every stop.

I haven't tried this yet, so I have no personal experience of how well it works. DS still hasn't been able to make it longer than five minutes in the car seat without conking out.

·
Registered
511 Posts
MAGNA DOODLE!!!

I'll try to think of more through the day,....but have to say, this one has been a WONDERFUL help to our DD through the years on car trips. not only can she enjoy drawing and drawing endlessly, but we play games of taking turns making pictures, learning tic tac toe, making the dotted outline of objects and letters so she could trace over them,......and on and on.
it's self contained, too! pen is attached, sometimes a drawer for some magnet pieces, etc.

good luck!

·
Registered
511 Posts
another thought,....
in trying to engage her in the sights and sounds, could you make a list of lots of things she might see? (for 2.5 maybe a 'picture' list?) and when she spots those things she could put a fun sticker in the space next to it, or color in a square or something?

·
Registered
1,738 Posts