Mothering Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi working mamas. I'm looking for some advice. I'm an attorney at a big manhattan lawfirm and am VERY ready for a new job. I've just had it all around. That, and I fear that the longer I stay at this big firm and the more senior I get, the less marketable I will become.

I've been in the process of looking for a new job since before I found out that I was pregnant. Since I had already started looking, and I've wanted options, I've even started the process with a couple of places over the past couple of weeks. Now that I'm getting close to the end of the first trimester, and I still have yet to complete the process with a couple of places, I'm starting to get anxious. I had plan to tell all prospective employers that I am pregnant at a certain point. I know I don't have to under the law (I am a lawyer!), but I want to gain the trust of a future employer and not have them think I am trying to put one over on them. However, I am starting to feel skiddish and fearful that I will end up without any offers and have to stay where I am.

I know there are issues with maternity leave and health insurance (I'm pretty sure I can get covered through my husband), but I am willing to make some sacrifices (such as unpaid leave, maybe shorter than I would have at my current job). Also, I'm not fearful that none of the places I've applied will pan out, and that I could get stuck where I am. Should I start applying to additional places now?

Any advice on these issues, and anecdotes from experience, would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

·
Registered
1,483 Posts
I wish I knew the right answer for this!
I have been applying on and off for jobs for a long time now (I was at my job for 3yrs and hated every minute) and got a job offer on thurs 2 weeks ago, then was fired friday from the old job. I'm 99.9% sure they found out I was looking seriously.
: