Mothering Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not worried, as there was no red/pink/green color, but is it normal to lose a bit of plug this early?

I never lost my plug my first pregnancy, so I'm not 100% sure it actually was part of the plug, but I know that it absolutely was not discharge and I do not have any sort of yeast or other vaginal infection.

I'm 19 weeks.

·
Registered
99 Posts
I'm also 19 weeks. The other day noticed a lot of mucus that looked like egg white cervical mucus from when I ovulate. Is that what you saw? This is my first time, so I have no experience with this...

·
Registered
2,393 Posts
Bits of plug can fall off. Within 48-72 hours they will have regenerated. I'd avoid sex, baths or anything going into the vagina until the 72 hours is up.

Also, just because it affected me, unless there's been a vaginal culture done there's no way to know if any infection is present. Many infections have no symptoms.

·
Premium Member
3,603 Posts
You'll know when its your plug, this early on is most likely just mucus. The plug is very thick snotty and tinged with red or pink...

·
Registered
1,851 Posts
I don't remember ever losing my plug with dd, either. I just all the sudden was in labor, lol.

I've been extra-mucous-y, though (sorry TMI), not just cervical mucous but in my sinuses, too. Seriously thought I had an amniotic fluid leak for a while there, also. I think it's normal to have more fluids/mucus discharge during pregnancy, as long as you're not noticing anything else that concerns you (like cervical pain or bleeding or whatever).

·
Registered
209 Posts
I have had more egg-white-y mucus here and there this pregnancy, so that could be it. I also had 3 rounds of asymptomatic yeast infections with DD that were only caught because of an exam.