Mothering Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
699 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've used ring slings for 6 years and have loved wearing my babies in them, but a couple weeks ago I discovered wrap carriers - I met a woman using one, she let me try it out, and within a week I owned two of them (an Ellaroo and a stretchy wrap made by the woman I met). I am REALLY liking them! Comfortable for me, comfortable for Ian - I've even been able to wear him on my back (he's 6 mos) which is something I NEVER did with any sling.

Anyway, in reading up on wraps a bit here, I have been exposed to mei tai carriers. (I can't believe I have been babywearing for 6 years and never realized there was so much more out there than ring slings and Baby Bjorns!!).

My question is: how does a mei tai compare to a wrap carrier as far as how easily and quickly you can get your baby in it and be ready to go? I'm getting better (faster and less awkward) with tying on my baby with my wraps, but it's still an effort. Is a mei tai any easier, really? Are they just as comfortable as wraps? Although we are both more comfortable when he's in the wrap than we are when he's in the sling, I do miss the "poppability" of the sling when I'm running errands, etc. So I guess that's my primary question - would a mei tai be as comfortable as a wrap but more "popable"?

·
Registered
703 Posts
I only have one wrap and it's a gauze type fabric. It is 5.5 yards long. It's comfy, but I do find the MT easier. The MT straps do drag on the ground when putting it on, but the wrap is a lot worse. I plan to explore wraps more, though, so ask me in a few months.

·
Registered
2,703 Posts
I find the Mei Tai easier to put on, but I find the wrap much more comfortable.

There are also a few hybrids--the Maya Tie and the Napsack have wide, wrap-type straps and a Mei Tai body. I'm sure there are others too.