Mothering Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
2,391 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If you have an allergy how far down do you eliminate things?

Here's our scenario, corn allergy.... in the making of iodized salt they use a sugar (which could be corn) to stabilize the iodine... so theoretically when I'm looking at a can of something or a loaf of bread and it says 'salt' there could be that tiny tiny trace of corn in the product. Well as a cook and canner I would think that they did not use iodized salt for that application, but you don't know... could be... so do you risk it or not?

Same with citric acid, they use a sugar (most likely corn) to grow a fungus on and go from there in their processing... eventually ending up with the citric acid, so when I see citric acid should it be in or out?

I do feel as if I'm driving myself bonkers with this and I'm totally obsessed with everything because I am new at the allergy thing so I'm still setting boundaries of what is acceptable or not in my mind.

Part of me keeps saying that our little guy is 5 years old and he hasn't had a life threating reaction up to this point so the micro level of things should be OK. But is it? When I talk to the nurse at the allergist office she says "eliminate all foods on the list" I tried talking to her a little about the micro stuff but I felt like she really wasn't listening or understanding.... I know many people do not analyze things as much as I do, I will admit that I am pretty intense sometimes in my thinking. I don't know if I have just went off on a tangent and I'm missing the big picture.

Anyone want to share how far microscopically they eliminate things? or tell me to just quit obsessing and bring me back to earth? I haven't even started on the soap and contact stuff yet because my brain isn't up for that yet.

· Registered
10,748 Posts