Mothering Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,637 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Am I the only one (albeit a first-time momma) who is starting to worry about how I'm going to make all of this work?
I am a recent law school graduate working at a one year position which doesn't pay the bills-- and that's after my and my husband's student loans have been deferred. I am due in June, and this position ends in August. I don't yet have anything lined up for after that but should be fairly marketable. My husband is having difficulty finding work and is also in school part-time. He may also be staying home with the baby, once he/she arrives.
How am I going to make this work without further increasing my scary credit card debt? And if I have to charge my life for a month or two to get real maternity leave, is that such a bad thing? Then I would have to buy Cobra too...
And I am trying to figure out how to swing purchasing maternity clothes considering I work in a professional environment, and how to make sure we have what we need when the baby comes.
I keep trying to reduce expenditures, but so many of our bills are fixed now that there is little else I can do. I some savings that I hope to use as a cushion, but it doesn't feel like enough.
I'm scared. Am I the only one?

·
Registered
64 Posts
You have no idea...I feel completely unprepared financially, but somewhere deep down I know we will be okay.

I once heard a line..."kids aren't expensive, lifestyles are" So true. I just I had the luxury of being a sahm for a couple of years.

·
Premium Member
8,322 Posts
: Hate to burst your bubble- its not a luxury- its a want, a choice, and sacrafice and a true dedication. Also its 24/7 and more.

My "luxury" took years in the planning. It was something we decided on before we started a family and worked towards that goal from the day we were married.