Mothering Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
812 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Oh my gosh! My milk came in! I was only 3 weeks along when I lost my baby. That was 11 weeks ago. And my milk came in today! I am totally shocked! I'd never had a baby before, so I had no clue this might happen. After thinking my body had failed me, I suddenly have some confidence it knows what it's doing. And since I've never done this bit before, I am totally impressed with myself!

·
Registered
2,396 Posts
What a wonderful feeling mama! I wish I would have thought to try pumping after I lost my little one, I would have like to donate his breast milk...

It's a very womanly, fertile feeling, isn't it? I'm glad it has brought you hope!

·
Registered
162 Posts
I'm really sorry to say, it would be VERY unusual for milk to come in after such an early pregnancy loss. Hormone levels just don't go high enough in early pregnancy to induce lactation, and for this to occur 11 weeks after your loss makes it even more unusual. It is possible that this is being caused by some other condition. I would suggest you get this checked out with a doctor. It is possible you have a hormone imbalance, which may have contributed to your loss. If so, correcting this problem may help you to prevent losses in the future, so it's really worth checking into!

Here is an article:
http://familydoctor.org/online/famdo...reast/673.html

Best wishes, and I am sorry for your loss,

Blayne

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by PrayinFor12 View Post
Oh my gosh! My milk came in! I was only 3 weeks along when I lost my baby. That was 11 weeks ago. And my milk came in today! I am totally shocked! I'd never had a baby before, so I had no clue this might happen. After thinking my body had failed me, I suddenly have some confidence it knows what it's doing. And since I've never done this bit before, I am totally impressed with myself!
interesting!