Mothering Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So my mother has always been a very doom and gloom type woman. Growing up, she used to tell me "bad things don't come and go, they come and STAY." and on and on.

She is a hardworking no nonsense woman who "doesn't see any value in art--it's a waste of time." I am a writer and a performer, and she is very confused by me.

Anyway, we are very different women with very different perspectives. Most of my adolescence and young adulthood I censored what aspects of my life I shared with her, because her negativity is toxic to me. However, she has been so amazing and supportive about this pregnancy that I got lulled into a false sense of security and told her yesterday that I am planning a homebirth.

Well. She is very upset and confused and terrified. And she went off telling me all the terrible things that are going to happen because of my irresponsible decision. I thought that I was prepared to deal with her reaction. But, last night I had nightmare after nightmare, dreaming of all of the horrible things my mother had told me would happen. I have wanted a homebirth forever, and it has always been my plan...but I can't believe it - she got in! The worry and anxiety is contagious!!!

This is my first baby, and I am sure that my homebirth is the tip of the iceberg of worry for her. I need help from you wise women in building a defense against her toxic comments. I don't want to raise my child in a home where I am lying to my mother to keep her calm -- as in "oh nooo, of course we don't co-sleep!" as if I am somehow ashamed of my choices... or where I allow her fear mongering to effect me to the point of nightmares that I can't get out of my head.

Any btdt or advice?

·
Registered
2,606 Posts