Mothering Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so this may be a little bit silly. But. I figure here is the best place to ask.

I am a very chronic nail biter. My nails NEVER have any bit of white growth on them (as in nail that isn't connected to the finger). I am constantly picking and biting my nails! I know it's bad habit and I have tried many different remedies to stop over my life but never have managed to kick it. It really doesn't seem like something I will ever stop (though I don't really care about having fingernails).

My concern is how bad is it for my pregnancy (about 5 weeks-ish now) to bite my nails? Did anyone else bite their nails during pregnancy? This is my first pregnancy so I'm rather new to everything! Advice wanted!

·
Registered
2,559 Posts
It shouldn't have any effect on your pregnancy unless you got an infection from doing it somehow.

Supposedly one of the nail biting remedies is putting something nasty tasting on your nails. I'd make sure whatever it was was non-toxic first though.

·
Registered
165 Posts
Until a couple years ago I was constantly biting my nails. I don't think nail biting has any ramifications on pregnancy, except if you put anything on your nails, although the risk is still very low.
I stopped biting when I started accidentally scratching my gums when my finger would slip and I would hurt my teeth if my teeth slipped on my nails. I was afraid I would chip a tooth, or knock it out entirely. I've bitten my nails so short they would sometimes hurt for a couple days. I really wanted to start growing my nails and start doing some nail art. I bought short fake nails quite a bit for a while. I couldn't bite my nails with those caps on and my natural nail would grow underneath. The problem was that the nail glue does havoc temporarily. I bought a nail buffer and started collecting nail polish. I can't stand biting my nails with nail polish on and I don't like chipped polish.