Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am of Norwegian background and would love to name this baby a traditional Norwegian name. Our number one choice for a girl is Solveig, which is very common in Norway. My question to you: is it too out there? How would you pronounce it seeing it for the first time?

Our boy name is Finn, which I love, but I'm concerned it's getting a bit too popular. Any thoughts?

Amanda

·
Registered
263 Posts
I personally like the name, and I'm one of the more traditional type people. I'm not much into trendy names, but I don't venture too far past the "regular" names if you know what I mean. (We like Zane or Aaron for boy, and Leigh or Gage for a girl).
As a teacher, I would think it was really cool to have a girl in my class named Solveig. I think it is very representative of your Norwegian background, and find it to be a very nice name.
As far as pronunciation...I would say, to put it as phonetically as possible, "Soul-Vig". (edited to add, that's a hard g...as in goat, not giraffe.)
How is it pronounced??

·
Registered
1,108 Posts
its very unique! i love your boy name, but i'm unsure of the girl name. however, if its what you like then go for it! i do love that its different though
I'm all for breaking out of the ordinary!!

·
Registered
466 Posts
Well, Finn is our boy name too lol... so I guess maybe popularity could be an issue. I however have only met one child IRL named Finn.

·
Banned
943 Posts
I'm personally more in favor of "easy," names. But if you guys love it then go for it! Maybe pick a simple middle name so that if she ever wants to, she can go by that.

I don't think Finn is getting too popular, I only know one kid with that name and his actual name is Finnegan. I would prounce your girl's name sol-veg.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·