Mothering Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone got one? My son is almost three months and I haven't tried to regulate his schedule at all. Generally, he goes to bed for the night around 9:30pm and sleeps for 3-4 hour stretches until 8am. I've never really put him down for a nap. I just let him nod off while we're out for a long walk, etc. At that time, he's out for a couple hours at a time. But here's the thing. I'm a writer and I'd like to start thinking about a more regular writing schedule (since I'm getting damn bored of scheduling my day around Oprah...my playtime is over!)

Any tips on "training" a three-month old to nap at specific times of day? And are certain times better than others?

·
Registered
4,411 Posts
This is NOT what you are going to want to hear.....................

Do not try to get a 3 month old baby on a schedule, you will just end up frustrated and miserable, so will your child. it will provoke you to start using CIO, and you will NEVER get support for that here. I work full time. Granted DS is in daycare during the day (he is 4 months), I still care for him all night and all morning. He has his own schedule, and I do not try to get him to cater to ME. Its quite the opposite, as I cater to him 120%. I understand that you want some time to do your thing, as we all do, but as mothers, there are scrafices we HAVE to make. If you can wait about 6 more months or so, he should have his days and nights pretty rounded out by then, taking a couple naps during the day, and sleeping relativly well at night. DS1 did this, and we did not force it on him, and neither did daycare. At that young an age, you go with childs cues. Children are much better at figuring these types of things out then they are given credit for. But we have to be patient and wait for them.

That being said, enjoy the time you have with your LO. I wish I could stay home, but alas, it was not in the cards.

·
Registered
145 Posts