Mothering Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Banned
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am thinking of making this my prrofession but i had a few q's first

1. do you schedual your own hours or does someone (like a boss or manager) do it for you

2. what is the pay scale

3. what do you do as an accountant

4. what courses would you recommend and what degree do you need to be successful?

i was thinking of becoming one because i love math and am great with figures and keeping track of things. i think this is what being an accountant involves buti am not sure. thanks for any help and advice.

·
Registered
2,791 Posts
I'm not an accountant but I am an MBA student who's had to take a few accounting classes.

My suggestion is to take an accounting class and see how you do. Financial accounting is a good place to start since this is where you learn the basics. If you like the class, then I'd talk with the professor and professional accountants in the area (your school should be able to point you in the right direction). The school I'm attending has a special program, the "Masters of Acounting" that provides you with all the classes you need to take and all the knowledge and requirements to get the CPA. The requirements can be very complicated and vary from state to state, so it's easiest to get into a program that takes all the guesswork out of it. I imagine most schools that have accounting classes offer something like this.

It's been my experience that it takes a specific kind of person to be an accountant. I thought initially that this is what I wanted to do because I'm good at math too. In the end, I realized it's just not for me. I liked the classes just fine and did very well in them, it's just that I couldn't see myself working in a job that required me to sit at a desk and stare at spreadsheets all day. Just not my thing.

·
Registered
396 Posts