Originally Posted by cristeen
When reading labels, I put back on the shelf anything that has:
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Hydrogenated or Partially Hydrogenated anything
Mono-sodium glutamate (MSG)
Sugar as the first ingredient (depending on the item, listing sugar at all is sometimes a no-go, like canned tomatoes)
Inulin (a form of fiber that my body does not like)
Sugar Alcohols (Maltitol, Sorbitol, Mannitol are three of the main ones)
Modified Food Starch (I'm ok with cornstarch)
Saccharine/Sweet & Low
Processed soy products
When I first started reading labels, I think I started with the first 4 items, and it's gradually grown over the years as I do more research and learn my body better. I'm sure I'm missing something from the list, but you get the general idea...
Originally Posted by kallyn
Me too. I try to make sure as many ingredients as possible are actual food. I allow 1 or 2 non-food ingredients as long as it's not high-fructose corn syrup or partially hydrogenated oil or something horrible like that.
Originally Posted by luvmy2boys
I also watch out for the "renamed" MSG. I read somewhere that there are other names they use to try to make you think it doesn't have it. One of them was...autolyzed yeast extract?
Ah, here we go: http://www.msgmyth.com/hidename.htm
Originally Posted by MelissaEvans
I'm not vegan, I'm still very much learning, but when it says all gelatin has MSG... are we talking Jello type stuff?