Mothering Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
788 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting over here; usually I'm in the diapering area. My oldest is 4 1/2, so she wouldn't be due to start Kindergarten for another year. But, since we are wanting to try homeschooling out, dh and I figured starting some kind of homeschooling routine this year would give us a better idea of how it's going to work and if we like it (if it just doesn't work out we haven't lost any time and she can still start Kindergarten on time next year; though I'm REALLY wanting to homeschool!).

Anyway, I'm the type that needs a set routine in order to stick with something. Not necessarily a super strict daily schedule, but a general routine. Otherwise I get lazy. Dd really enjoys her workbooks (we have a few pre-K workbooks that she enjoys) so once in a while we get those out. But I noticed that sometimes in the workbooks it's just busy work and she's not really learning anything new. Or I'm having to practically tell her the answer so who knows. I know there's WAY more to learning than just doing busy work but I need some ideas. I have 2 other children, soon to be 3, so whatever we do will have to work well with caring for them as well. My 3-year-old will probably want to join in activities too.

Ok, this is getting to be too long of a post. Please give me advice on routines! For example, how much time do you spend doing something structured? Do you have a set day to go to the library each week? Do you do a lot of crafts? (If so, do you find your kids' rooms cluttered up with crafts and wish you hadn't spent the money to buy the stuff to make the crafts, and then sneak some of them into the trash when they are asleep???