Mothering Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
419 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! I am a nursing student working my way through school to be a midwife. I am also a birth assistant. I do a lot of work with day one postpartum women in my clinicals and at the birth center where I work. Here is my question: What info./advice would have been most helpful for you to know in the first few days/weeks?

I don't have any children of my own yet, I hope to in the next couple of years
. I feel like I have so much to try to cover with new parents, especially in the hospital where parents haven't had much teaching throughout pregnancy on the newborn period (versus the birth center where parents are more informed).

You only have so much time, and parents are so overloaded in those first days, what do you wish someone would have taught you/ or gone over more with you?

·
Registered
4,252 Posts
For me, the two biggest issues in those first days were breastfeeding and vax'es.

The nurses kept telling me that I had to supplement with formula until my milk came in and that dd wasn't getting enough to eat
:

Also, I was told that dd had to get the HepB vax after birth
:

I wish someone would have better supported me and informed me on both counts.

·
Registered
1,241 Posts
Breastfeeding info for sure. People should be told that unlike alot of experts say, alot of the time it CAN be kind of sore for a bit while your nipples adjust and that is ok and normal.

Also info on the fact that sometimes newborns are inconsolable for a night or two (or more) just due to adjusting to their new world. I was going crazy on elimination diets, trying to do a routine, thinking I was doing something wrong or she had colic, when I think in actual fact its just a normal baby thing that most newborns go through.

Its really great you're asking these questions!

·
Registered
5,218 Posts