Mothering Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I am new to MDC and relatively new to cloth diapering. I am a SAHM with a 9 month DD. We have been using fuzzi bunz and bumgenius pocket diapers. I love them although have gotten no support from relatives including dh. My question involves diaper ointment. I read that diaper ointment is a no-no, but have also read that burt's baby bee ointment is ok. I have bought and have started to use this ointment, but it has been leaving ointment residue on the diapers.<br>
Is the burt's bee ointment ok to use? will it ruin my cds?<br>
Is there a good way to get out the ointment?<br>
Thanks!

·
Registered
356 Posts
Congrats on switching to cd! Maybe your family will be more supportive once they get used to it...<br><br>
I don't think you're supposed to use diaper creams with FBs or any dipe of that style b/c the residue can build up and cause the dipes to repel the moisture rather than allowing it to pass through to the inserts...<br><br>
That said I have two suggestions...<br><br>
1. I think you can strip the dipes to get the residue out...unfortunately I don't know how to go about doing this...I've just heard friends talk about it b/c they have hard water and so it causes repelling too...I know the mamas on here know how to strip dipes so I'm sure someone will fill you in....<br><br>
2. If your dc needs diaper cream then maybe you can just cut some pieces of fleece from the fabric store and lay those on top of FB surface so that the cream would only touch the extra fleece which could be discarded and cheaply replaced as needed. That's what I've done with my prefolds (so ds stays drier and more comfy while wearing them) and will do with my HPs and BGs if he needs cream.<br><br>
Also, try nakey time...that really heals the rash quickly!

·
Registered
3,200 Posts