Mothering Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!

My name is Amalia and I am new to these fabulous boards. I've spent the last two days reading just a couple of forums...I'll be spending lots of time here...

I will be having my precious little boy at Swedish in late July. I have been battling with myself about the newborn procedures...Vit K shot and eye ointment. I still have to look into the PKU and thyroid tests.

Here's the thing...This little guy is my second child. My first, my precious Olivia was born still 3 days shy of her due date due to a cord accident. I was planning on having her at the Birthing Inn in Tacoma, with my midwives...no medication...just as natural as possible. I originally wanted to have a Home Birth, but our insurance would not cover that...so we opted to a birth center.

With this little guy, I opted for a different route. I had a WONDERFUL delivery with Olivia, and decided that what is most important to me this time is having a "LIVE" baby at the end of my pregnancy...and so I went with an OB at Swedish, who I really like by the way. So, as far as the delivery goes, I am all set...but I am very confused about all the procedures that will be done to "Speck" after his birth...I know that docs will instill the fear of God and death into you if you ask them about these procedures...so I was hoping you guys would tell me what you chose and or thought about them.

I do have genital Herpes, so the doctor will give me medication around 35 weeks to suppress any outbreak during labor, (I have very infrequent outbreaks...the last one was 2 years ago), but I agree that I need to take the medication. The eye drop is mainly for Gonorea, (sp) and Clamidia? Is that right? I don't have those, so I don't see the point in giving him the eye drops, unless it's also good against Herpes.