Mothering Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been something of an infrequent poster lately. I started school (I'm a teacher) on 9/10 and have been trying to juggle that and all my doctor's appointments and raising a 2 year old. I'd been having one OB appointment every two weeks, monthly level 2 ultrasounds, and weekly biophysical profiles. The place where I have the BPPs is an hour and fifteen minutes from my work and has sucky hours. I was pretty much always going to have to take a half day off to go there, which is a royal pain.

I had a not-so-good level 2 last week, (low fluid, small baby for dates) so the OB told me now he wants me to have a level 2 US every 2 weeks, BPPs twice a week, and appointments with him once a week.
:
:
: And to drink, like, gallons of water a day.

Like the very reasonable person I am, I burst into tears when he told me all this. I explained about work, and how I am SO exhausted I feel like I am about to fall asleep at the wheel driving to these afternoon appointments, and how I know my BP is starting to creep up mainly due to stress, and I can't even pee when I need to there.

He put me out of work!
: Said now I have no excuses not to remain fully hydrated and to concentrate on growing a big healthy baby.

My job would have allowed me to take a longer leave had I asked for it in the first place, but once I put that letter in saying October 19 was my last day, well, then I was pretty much under contract. I could see that it was going to be fairly hellish getting to that date, but there was really not all that much I could do about it without a doctor's note. So what a relief!

I put in a claim with my disability insurance, but I don't know if they'll pay or not. Either way, they'd have kicked in starting at 36 weeks anyway I think.

So tomorrow is my last day. Then I get to be home with my babies for almost a whole year!

·
Registered
5,410 Posts
WHOO HOO!!!!!!!!