Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
5,329 Posts
I'm not an expert and haven't done a ton of research on this, but I prefer nylon over PUL any day. I do think PUL (especially the 2 ml laminate) is probably more waterproof, but it isn't breathable at all. For example, my beloved quick dry Angel Wraps use nylon instead of PUL. My DS can wear those without any problems or redness. If he spends too long in a PUL diaper, he gets red and sore. That says to me that the nylon is more breathable than the PUL. Same goes for Bummis covers -- no problems with those. I guess it could also be that he's just sensitive to one of the chemicals in the PUL. But anyway, that's my experience.

Oh, and the nylon is much softer, IMO. Less stiff feeling.

·
Registered
868 Posts
Well, I personally prefer nylon over PUL. I do use PUL in my covers, because it seems to be the preference of the majority.
I know that PUL is softer than nylon and doesn't make any crinkly sounds, but I don't know. I just like the feel of nylon better for some reason!

·
Registered
13,016 Posts
I 'prefer' nylon over PUL as well. I like fitted diapers and cpfs over all-in-ones for this reason. ALTHOUGH Terri's (FMBG) AIOs do not leave Kenny red for some reason. I'm certain she uses PUL - maybe there are certain levels of breathability. Kenny's buttkicker diaper is the only all-in-one (outside of pocket diapers) that we ever use. A 'show' diaper.

·
Registered
847 Posts
I find my nylon lasts longer than my PUL and also breathes better-no sweating of the dry diaper sections. PUL just seems to break down faster in my house. Also Nylon can be washed and dried on hot and I thought PUl could not(should not?) be dried on hot?

Musings of someone who hasn't had any coffee yet.
:

·
Registered
427 Posts
Hi,