Mothering Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4,110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello midwives,

I have an extreme dilemma.

Please help is you can. I am really driven to be a midwife, and this year I got accepted to a really great direct-entry midwifery program and it was a dream come true.

But, I am having a family breakdown and I don't know if I will be with dp come fall. I have a 1.5 year old and I need to figure out what I can do for a living that will not stray too far away from my dreams and beliefs.

I can go to a regular bachelor's degree program in University but I could not do the midwifery program without support. Or be a midwife for that matter.

I will pursue my midwifery calling once dd is grown up. I don't mind waiting.

But I don't want to fulfill a random position in society until then because I feel so strongly for standing up for natural childbirth, breastfeeding, etc.

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE I am really at odds. All I know is I love my daughter and I want to give her a wonderful childhood and life.

·
Registered
7,527 Posts
All I can say is that if it is meant to be, it will all work out. If you need to wait awhile, then you can do some self-study.

Are you wanting to be a CNM? If not, there are some amazing midwifery programs that wont' cost an arm and a leg - like AAMI, which is a fabulous home study course that is better than most expensive university educations!

And, re: doing a "random job" before you start apprenticing, this may just have to be what you do for your family. Maybe not. It's what all of us have done, that's for sure.

·
Registered
50 Posts