Mothering Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
<p>Hello All! I'm new to mothering dot community but I have been a subscriber of the magazine for a long time. My DH and I have one child, a sweet boy who is 20 months old. I stay home with him, but I am full-time graduate student so I have always had to leave a few nights a week for class, and some other times to study, etc. He only ever stays with me, my husband, or babysitters who are related to our family. I am still nursing. </p>
<p> </p>
<p>I'm writing for help because over the past few months, my DS has gotten increasingly aggressive when he is frustrated. If he doesn't get what he wants immediately, he bites, scratches or hits me. I literally have several scabs on my face right now, and a huge purple welt on my breast (from when I told him that a nursing session was "all done" a couple of days ago). I do not believe in spanking or time out, but I have to admit that I once swatted him on the butt out of anger and it devastated me (he wasn't hurt and just hit me back but obviously it was absolutely the wrong thing). I sometimes walk away from him when I know that he is about to attack me to protect myself, but he usually ends up running after me and falling and getting hurt, making the situation that much worse. I know it sounds ridiculous that I need to protect myself from my 20 month old, but if I grab his arms to stop him from scratching, he will lean forward or bite, and vice versa, so it is incredible difficult to come out of the situation without an injury.</p>
<p> </p>