Mothering Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
547 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

I am brand new to cloth diapering. We literally just started and finally settled on the one size pocket diapers since my son is 20 months and I have a baby due in December. I thought I would get more use out of the one size diapers. My son had a major poop just as I was starting the wash last night, so I dunked it in the toilet, got out all the chunks and put it in the wash. I was disapointed this morning when my brand new white wonderoo diaper had a poop stain.

I might be over analyzing our washing cycle, so perhaps it needs some fine tuning. We do a cold water pre soak with some baking soda followed by a warm water wash with a second warm water rinse. We've always done a second rinse on all my son's clothes because of his eczema issues, so I'm not ready to eliminate that. I'm using tide and only 1/4 of the manufacturers suggested amount of soap. I guess I should expect some staining, but I didn't want to see it on the first use of this particular diaper. I live in Seattle, so I could put it outside for some sun bleaching, but that's not really an option when it gets dark and rainy.

Any suggestions on how to avoid stains? Thanks in advance!

-Melany

·
Registered
547 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Anyone?

Does this mean I'll just have to get used to the poop stains?

-Melany

·
Registered
1,665 Posts
I posted a very similiar post when I first started using cloth. No matter what I did to my wash routine, my diapers (of all kinds) would be stained by my daugthers bf poo. I sun them when I can, which works GREAT but I usually do laundray at night and need them in a.m. I've learned to live with it. It was hard, though. Also, I just ordered a mini-shower and am hoping that will help a bit. Good luck!

·
Registered
1,969 Posts