Mothering Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3,892 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My poor, dear sister in law has a seven week old girl, and she STILL cries and cringes when the babe latches on to the left side.

She has a decent tear in her nipple that just won't heal. She's given up on treating it because it just wouldn't go away. She did tons of Lansinoh, Neosporin ointment, constant airing out... the babe has a great latch, lips flanged, tongue over bottom gum, lots of areola is taken in... we're at a total loss here.

Any suggestions? Tips? Techniques?

TIA!

·
Registered
302 Posts
Can she give that side a break? What about thrush?

Maybe try sprinkling it with some good bacteria. I was having some pain last week and it really seemed to help. I'd break open one of my capsules and sprinkle. After the neosporin, she may need a bacteria boost.

Just a feeling, I'm not a professional, please use discretion with my advice.

What about LLL? Has she talked to BF knowledgable medical types? If she has a ped like mine, he'd be no help at all.

If it were me, I'd wean from the left and let it heal. Seven months, trying to remember that far back, she may need to pump for comfort, unless pumping hurts more.

I'll add her left to my prayer list.

·
Registered
498 Posts
Here are some short term comfort measures:
--nurse on unaffected side until let down occurs, then switch to sore side, paying close attention to latch and position.
--she may want to talk to her doc about an analgesic that is compatible with b'feeding

To help healing:
--has she tried expressing her milk and applying it to the wound?
--she might want to read up Dr. Jack Newman's recommendations. He has developed an ointment for mothers that is a mix of antibiotic, antifungal, and anti inflamitory.
--some mothers find hydrogel or glycerin gel pads help speed healing.