Mothering Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My husband and I finally decided to take the plunge and start cloth diapering. The other day I ordered 2 dozen yellow edged pre-folds from Green Mountain. But after reading sarahmck's thread (about needing to order more pre-folds at 4 months), I'm a little concerned about sizing.

According to the Green Mountain website the yellow pre-folds are good from 10 pounds to about 6 months. My son is currently 2 months old and at about 14 pounds right now. I'm concerned that the yellow edged pre-folds aren't going to really fit him for very long. I'd prefer to not replace them in less than 2 months if I can avoid it.

So my question is this, if you used the yellow-edged pre-folds from Green Mountain, about how big was your baby (roughly) before you needed to move up to the next size?

· Registered
1,075 Posts
I'm a relative newbie too, and had a similar problem with sizing PFs.

I have twin girls, now 6 months old. At 5 months, when I started CD'ing, they were long and leanish - about 14 and 15.5 lbs respectively. I got two dozen red edge bleached which fit perfectly, but just. I hate folding over in the front, so was pleased with the rise. But they were a little tight. Since then I ordered unbleached brown edge, which leave me room to grow. And I switched from snappis to pins, which allow me to wider still. At 6 months I use both red and brown edge, but know the red will only last me another month or two.

My $0.02 = return the yellow edges if you can. Get the red edge if you want something trim for next few months, or go all the way with a unbleached brown edge if you don't mind a little large that will last you way into the future.

Best of luck!

· Registered
2,407 Posts