Mothering Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My kiddoes are pre-schoolers so I have a pretty good handle on what i am doing with and for them, but I have been asked to teach highschoolers. What books and curriculums should I look at? I have my degree and intend to take the exam to get my certificate. but I have gotten myself so into teaching little people I can't see where to begin with the older guys.
:
Oh, I have a strong emphasis in womens studies and african american and other histories not to discredit or downgrade euro or western I just want those two arenas to be well covered. I have a couple of my old college books but I don't want it to be too over there head. They might need an introduction first ya know?

·
Registered
11,576 Posts
You need to check carefully and make sure this is legal where you are. Homeschooling is legal everywhere, but teaching some one else's children in your home is not the same as homeschooling.

Personally, I would not want children who were far from my kids ages in the house all the time. I want to focus on my kids and what is best for them and I don't feel I would have time to do that.

I think that what kids are doing in their mid-late teens depends strongly on what they are planning to do with the rest of their lives. Are they planning on college, do they want to start their own business, etc? I don't believe in a one size fits all education. A good book for you to track down would be The Teenage Liberation Handbook. I can't remember the authors last name.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Quote:
The Teenage Liberation Handbook
I agree!

I have a 15 and a 12 yr old and our HSing right now is a result of all that came before. That is not standardized KWIM? I wouldn't have any idea where to start or how to deal with someone else's children. Have they been HSed up until now?

Collette

·
Registered
493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by Epicurus
I agree!