Mothering Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
438 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all you Mommas,

I totally support UC, midwives and homebirths.

A question came up in my nursing class (since ya'll know I am a nursing student)* for maternal and newborns when discussing UC or homebirths that I did not know how to answer. I was defending the position that it is a woman's right to choose where and how she is to give birth.

The question was about newborn screening. Who does that when a baby is born at home or a birthing center?

The state of Wisconsin has a whole testing program for newborns for a wide array of genetic anomolies from hemophilia to cystic fibrosis.

Any thoughts on this I can take back to class and also be more educated myself?

I am hoping to specialize in women's health someday.

Thanks,

V

*Kinda funny to think that in 8 weeks I am going to be a NURSING student, not just a student of nursing.

·
Registered
1,418 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by noteworthy
The question was about newborn screening. Who does that when a baby is born at home or a birthing center?
Most midwives offer it, or you can take your baby to a doctor/ped. Some parents even do it themselves. Others, of course, refuse. I think many who choose the newborn screening use an alternative schedule than the hospital. Instead of doing the test on days 1 and 3, the test is typically done one time between days 4 and 10 after the infant has been receiving breastmilk for about 2 days. The test is more accurate this way.

Also, I think if you search over at the vax and/or birth forums, this topic was recently discussed in depth with lots of good links.

HTH,

·
Registered
1,406 Posts