Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
800 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm still new to this particular forum, but it's where my heart/brain are leading me. DD was in a hip pre-K program until we pulled her out at the beginning of March, and we are thrilled that we did it. It was the absolutely right thing to do. We're sticking with homelearning now, and are definitely more unschooling than not.

I am still trying to wrap my head around some RU philosophy so I was hoping to open up a little discussion.

What do you do if a child's learning interest is in contrast to your family's values?

This hasn't come up, but I am just thinking aloud. We are adamantly TV free in our household. There are far too many reasons why this is the right decision for us, but since we adults have made this decision, I guess it means we are not truly potential RUers because DD would simply never have the option to just watch TV, if that's what she wished to do. (truthfully, DD shows no interest in TV so this isn't a real example, just using to explore this topic.)

I'm just wondering how RUers handle situations like this---not the TV example in particular but rather any situation in which a child's learning interest is in conflict with the family's decisions/values.

Holli

·
Registered
348 Posts
I am not really a RU but do consider myself an unschooler. I have three criteria for my kids making choices.
  1. Are there safety or long term health concerns? (ie: seat belts)
  2. Will this decsion adversely affect other family members? (ie: someone wants a pet that others are allergic to or constantly leaves messes in common areas of the house)
  3. Can the results be easily undone if my concerns prove to be true? (ie: piercings are easily undone, tatoos are not )