Mothering Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,674 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not sure my dipes have build-up, but I'm going to strip them just in case. I'm confused...Should I use Calgon and vinegar, or is it better to use sports wash? I called the water company and they said our water (N California) is more to the soft side. I have no idea what this means, but they told me it's between 4.1 and 4.4. So, should I not use Calgon then?<br>
My dipes aren't as soft as they used to be, but they're not all that crunchy either and I've been using them for almost 2 months. I've read a bunch of the other threads, and I'm confused about which I should use. DS has really sensitive skin, if that matters.<br>
So, what should I do? TIA!

·
Registered
4,301 Posts
First I would call your local water treatment plant or water co. They should be able to tell you if your water is hard or soft. I think that would be good to know to select the best method for your water.

·
Registered
4,202 Posts
Calgon is pretty expensive and strong smelling, just keep that in mind. If you find out you have hard water (don't you live near me? I don't think our water is very hard in Broomfield, but I have a softener, too) then using Calgon on a semi regular basis would be a good idea. But if you just need to do a very occasional strip, maybe consider getting some RLR Laundry treatment at Walmart in the laundry section. Comes in a package with 2 balls. A long hot soak will really help strip mineral and detergent build up.

·
Registered
4,202 Posts
Woops! Don't know why I thought you were in CO.<br>
If you have soft water, it is possible you are using too much detergent and some of it is staying on the dipes, making them kinda chalky-rough. If that's the case, for your regular routine, reduce your degergent to 1/4 C. in the hot wash. Use vinegar in the first rinse and then do a second rinse with nothing to remove vinegar residue.<br>