Mothering Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
1,895 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took the BFW Introductory Workshop/Level One last weekend and enjoyed it very much. I was very inspired and want to work as a Mentor and possibly as a doula as well. I am now trying to decide how to best go about this. Unlike many of the other participants in the workshop, I have no experience working as a CBE or doula. I have my own birth experiences and a passion for birth, and I do have two MA degrees in unrelated fields, but that is it. I'm a little overwhelmed now about just starting out. I know if I enroll in the program I will get some assistance from my adviser, but will that be enough? Enough to get started and feel somewhat confident that I can do this? Again, I was so inspired by the workshop last weekend, and I feel that to really do this type of work (BFW), you need to be very committed to it and that it is almost like an art. I guess I am wondering in part if I have what it takes. Currently, I am a SAHM and entering into this work will mean some sacrifice on my part and that of my family. I am concerned about the time, energy, and money to get started, but I don't want to turn my back on this either. I'm feeling a little torn and trying to figure out how to forge ahead, and if this is indeed the right time in my life to start this kind of work. I supposed no one can really answer this for me -- I know it is very personal. But if you have anything to share in terms of your experiences starting out, or if you have any sage advice or words of encouragement, I'd appreciate hearing them.

· Registered
1,803 Posts