Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
542 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this is long...just want to give the right background info!

My husband, 3 yo son and I currently live in beautiful Northern CA (Monterey area). We really love it here but have sadly come to the realization that'll we'll probably never be able to afford to buy a house here, at least not one in a good school neighborhood. So, we've decided that we'll have to move. We've been mulling over various areas. I initially was considering Seattle as I think it's probably pretty close to the social/political/cultural environment here. However, my mood can be very affected by gloomy weather so we've written that area off. We narrowed our choices down to Florida or Georgia. Those areas would work well for my husband's type of work. I'm currently a SAHM but will be going back to work as we just can't afford to live on husband's income anymore. I was a Project/QA Manager in high tech before I became SAHM.

A couple of weeks ago we took a trip to FL to check out 3 areas: Sarasota, Jacksonville, and Orlando. We only spent one day in each area and so I'm sure we didn't get a true view of the areas but we did at least get an overall impression. I was surprised to find that I liked Winter Park (Orlando) best of all and wan't too impressed with Sarasota. I had expected to like Sarasota best given things I had heard. Jacksonville just seemed huge. There were a couple areas in J-ville we thought "we'll, I guess, maybe..."

I haven't been to Atlanta yet and have heard mixed reviews so I'm not sure what to think about that area.

Anyway, here's what we're looking for:
Excellent schools
Reasonable home prices ($500k or under)
Walkable neighborhood (not sure how to explain this but I HATE the gated, homogenous communities you find in most of the FL areas we looked at. Houses that don't look identical and stores/restaurants w/in walking distance.)