Mothering Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
1,827 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hope I titled that ok.

I got a 2nd degree tear during the birth of my son last month (currently 5 wks old). My midwife didn't repair it, stating that it should heal on its own.

Well, it healed, but it healed split apart and not back together.

I went to see a doctor today and she said that the muscles you use to poop are visible through the tear and could eventually prolapse. Its not a guarantee that it'll happen, but it is possible.

The tear is causing no pain, but I have very little perineum left. She said that I could just live with it open and, if a prolapse occurs, fix it then, or I have the option to go ahead and have it repaired.

Has anyone ever had a tear repaired this far after birth? I didn't discuss the surgery with her, but I'm curious as to what it entails. Anyone know?

· Registered
2,308 Posts
no advice but

If it were me, I'd probably want it repaired if I could afford the surgery. Especially if it was affecting my sex life. But of course you have to make that decision on your own. Good luck w/ it.

· Registered
111 Posts
I had a tear that healed abnormally in which the skin actually kept growing past where it should have creating kind of like a flap or something. And also some adhesions deeper in the tissue. I didn't have surgery or anything, but I did have it repaired sometime around 7 weeks postpartum. It took quite a while to heal up and feel somewhat normal and comfortable again. But I'm glad I did it then rather than waiting. The first few months after birth, I wasn't really feeling like DTD anyway and was exhausted from a newborn. It's kind of like an excused absence for all your nether regions! So I think I'd go ahead and do it now while you're already resting up and taking it easy (hopefully). Then you don't have to worry about it later.

· Registered
409 Posts