Mothering Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK... So I'm new to this eating healthy, whole foods thing! We are gradually making small changes to improve my family's health. Whole grain bread, brown rice, more/ organic veggies, etc.

So, here is my issue... I absolutely LOVE to bake! Cookies, cakes, brownies, you name it! I am currently using a 50/50 blend of white & whole wheat flour and everything is turning out fine. Now I want to cut back on white sugar. What can I use as a replacement? Thanks for the help!

·
Premium Member
8,105 Posts
Honey is a cup for cup replacement. I think that maple syrup is as well, but I'm not for certain. Stevia is used in a much smaller quantity...you'd have to check the box and perhaps some "crunchy" cookbooks for how to change the recipe to make up for the lack of "chemical" reaction from the sugar though.

·
Registered
1,876 Posts
You can try Rapadura if you want a one to one replacement without much hassle. It's evaporated whole can juice. More in the way of nutrients than white sugar, though it still ranks up there on the GI. Honey and maple syrup are good, though it can be a bit more tricky to find suitable replacement ratios, and you do have to compensate for the extra wet ingredient.

Also, one thing I found is that I can cut way back on the recommended amount of sweetener in any recipe. Made zucchini bread today with only a cup of sugar (Rapadura) for a double batch when the recipe calls for three.

·
Registered
3,949 Posts
I also cut back on the amount of sugar and use Rapadura...My "healthier" oatmeal cookies were eaten just as fast! Also, I find that whole wheat pastry flour works great for baking.

Jennifer

·
Registered
51 Posts