Mothering Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted this on the working moms board too. I really need help!

I know, I know, I can hear it already, scheduling is bad bad bad. I KNOW that. I bf dd on demand all day long, usually every hour or so. Well, I HAVE to start back to work in a week and a half. I have tried deperately for her to take a bottle, with no success. I have tried a million different ones it seems like. Well, I am pretty sure my boss will let me feed her on my planning period and my lunch break (I'm a teacher). Which means I will drop her off at daycare at about 7:30, then I can come feed her at 9:30 and again at 12:00. Then I will pick her up at 3:30 to come home.

If she won't take a bottle, she is going to have to learn to eat at those two times, and fill up, not just nurse for a few minutes. Please, any suggestions? I am panicking and stressing so much I can't stand it! I wish I didn't have to work, but that isn't an option. Neither is having her brought up to me every hour. Those are the only two times I have.

Thanks.

·
Registered
7,115 Posts
How old is she? It sounds like your plan could work, though it may take a few days of adjustment.

·
Registered
13,477 Posts
Sounds viable, as long as you're prepared to forego sleep- she may choose to reverse feeding patterns durig the day and eat all night. Concentrate on getting her to empty one breast, unless you have supply issues of any kind, and consider a pacifier so she can suckle in arms for naps.
How old is she?

·
Registered
748 Posts
Has someone else tried giving her a bottle when you aren't around? She may not be taking a bottle if its you who is giving it to her, but she might take it from another person when you aren't around.

How old is your dd? 7:30 to 9:30 is only 2 hours so she could probably go without a bottle then. And maybe from 9:30 to 12. The 12 to 3:30 is the longest stretch. When does she nap?