Mothering Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since this group has so much wonderful insight to offer in so many other areas, I thought I would put this one out there since it is weighing heavily on my mind.
:

I'm an attorney at a big law firm and am pretty miserable at my job right now. I've been contemplating leaving for a while and actively looking for a number of months. The positions I want most are public interest-type stuff and the interview processes can take a while. For all of those positions, I started to look before I knew I was pregnant, so I'm not terribly concerned about telling them now that I am pregnant.

I've also looked a bit at some other firms (chance for better work and better lifestyle). Now, I know I don't have to tell anyone that I'm pregnant, and not hiring me as a result would be discrimination (as a lawyer, at least I know my rights!), but I don't want to put one over on anyone. Just think, assuming I get an offer and take the position, I do have to work there and would want to be honest and forthcoming with an employer whom I want to have a future with.

So, I'm leaning towards telling employers before they can offer me a position, but after they know enough not to prejudge me. Also, I'm now 12 weeks, and soon enough being pregnant will be hard to hide.

These places are small and have limited resources. I'm sure none will be thrilled to hire someone who has to take a leave within 6 months. Should I stop actively looking now (that is, not contact any place I haven't already)? I'm willing to give up my great maternity leave at an impressive salary for unpaid leave and a sense of happiness!!

Sorry for the long post. Any advice or stories about getting jobs while pregnant would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,047 Posts