Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
402 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
To keep a very long story short, I am currently trying to decide between continuing to homeschool ds or sending him to Montessori. I should preface this by saying that I was an AMI Montessori teacher before staying home. One of my sticking points in deciding is that I LOVE Montessori's focus on developing community. The children live in and share their classroom environment on a daily basis. Classroom life is constructed as a microcosm of society where they can learn their role in caring for the environment and experience participating in a functioning "village" if you will (preparing food, handling and appreciating diversity, managing conflicts, etc). Personally this feels like a really important component of "education" and I worry that if I homeschool him, he will not have the opportunities to experiene this "village" environment. In homeschooling life, what do you see as a comparable experience? If they only meet with or share an environment with other kids once a week or so, does that give the same effect? How have your children developed their sense of community? TIA.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Hi Tammy,