Mothering Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm hoping you guys can shed some light on a few things for me. I have a Singer Quantum 9920 that I received as a gift a little less than a year ago. I've only been using it regularly for maybe 6 months or so.

I'm entirely self-taught, a real fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants kind of sewer. So maybe there's just some aspect of this I never thought to learn about.

- I'm having all these tension issues. I get the bobbin inserted and the needle threaded, and then when I hit the button to lower the needle into the fabric the thread zips out and back into the machine. Then when I try to rethread and start over, something doesn't catch properly with the bobbin thread and I get a whole messy nest of loops on the reverse side of the fabric. Adjusting the tension dial doesn't *seem* to improve it.

- I almost never switch out the presser foot... I'm sewing mostly cotton wovens, sometimes fleece or satin, occasionally PUL. Does it really make a big difference?

- How often do you get your machine serviced? Is this something I should be doing routinely? Would it help with my thread-catching-in-the-machine issue?

I apologize in advance if these are dopey questions... I realize I'm coming across as a bit of a n00b. I really do make some nice stuff, when I can get the machine to be my friend!

·
Registered
1,552 Posts
Hi, I'm no expert sewer but used to have an old 30 yr Singer, and the thing you described with getting a bunch of messy loops on the bottom side of the fabric sounds very familiar. I spent many hours frustrated and ready to throw the entire sewing machine out the glass window.

I figured out that I was threading the needle wrong, missing a little part and that was why everything was weird. Do you have the instruction book? I would go over every detail and see if you missed anything. It was such a small adjustment to make, I am surprised it made so much difference.