Mothering Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,<br><br>
I'm kind of new to the Gentle Discipline approach, but have read Naomi Aldort, which I liked very much, but find it challenging work to follow her suggestions all the time. So, I'm looking for opinions on this issue I'm having with my 3 year old, who has just started a great Montessori school. He cries about going to school because he doesn't want to be lonely. He is used to having me play with him all day, although with the addition of a one year old brother, he does have share me. He is jealous of his baby brother and I've really clued into that after reading the Aldort book, so I am trying to be sensitive to that. Anyway, the teachers can't be with him all the time and he hasn't learned how to play with other kids yet and often seeks attention by pushing and hitting.<br><br>
I could say, ok...you don't have to go, but I really think he likes it when he's busy with work there...it's totally the kind of stuff he loves to do.<br><br>
AND, I really need some time without him here. The baby is not getting his naps that he needs because he is so distracted my big brother, who intentionally disrupts nursing and sleep. We have been a co-sleeping family and it just doesn't work to get them to sleep when they are in the same room. Yes, I could do a stroller nap, but not twice a day. And, I can't leave the two boys alone together for a minute or someone gets hurt and I need to feel like I can get some things accomplished. So, basically for my sanity, I would really like him at school. Since we have moved, we have no family or close friends around that I can rely on to help out.<br><br>
Has anybody been through this and what happened? I

·
Registered
2,571 Posts
i haven't had that same situation but when my dd was born my ds (3) and i started having time where we would do something fun and engaging, just the two of us.<br><br>