Mothering Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
5,274 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've recently made friends with a woman at church, and a couple weeks ago she brought her youngest boy, age 6, with her and I got to meet him. Both my and my husband's (separate, discussed later) impression was that he was on the autistic spectrum. The way he held his arms, didn't ever make eye contact or respond to people, even his mom, and the sort of very strong outbursts he had at his mom (new place with lotsa people, rough time for him of course). She told me it was difficult with him and being a single mom and whatnot, and said that he had ADHD. I don't know if she has had him evaluated for some form of autism or is aware of what it is. I'm no expert at all but like I said, I had a really clear impression that he was. Would it be rude to discuss the possibility, might it be helpful, how should I mention it if it's ok to do so?

· Registered
346 Posts
My gut feeling is that unless this woman is a close friend, I wouldn't suggest it to her unless she brings it up, asks you about her son or something like that. Also, you didn't mention if you had a child with ASD? It might be appropriate if you have a child with ASD and you discuss her son in the context of your own child.
Maybe you could suggest she get him evaluated PERIOD. Not evaluated for autism. Just evaluated if she expresses concern about him to you.
I don't think????? most people would take too well to having someone suggest their child is autistic unless it is brought up in some kind of context.

Also, his behaviors may be indicative of something other than autism like SPD. It is hard to say someone has ASD from just one meeting like that unless they are pretty severe.

I could be wrong...just my gut feeling.
I'll be interested to read others' opinions.
Kristin

· Registered
183 Posts