Mothering Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not sure if this is the right place for this post. I apologize if it isn't.

I am interested in starting a preschool coop. My DD is 2 and she loves story/lesson time in the nursery at our church. I really don't think sending her to preschool is necessary at this time but I think she would love more structured learning time than what she is getting with me. I'd love to gather a small group of families to do this but I have no experience with this nor do I know any families who would be interested. Any ideas?

· Registered
131 Posts
I am new to this forum, but just wanted to chime in and say that a few of the moms in our HS group met on a Yahoo group and formed our own preschool co-op. We just put it out there and filtered through the responses. Now we meet every Friday and do crafts/activities, snacks, and books based on a theme for that week. We always start and end with free play to keep it fun! HTH!

· Registered
570 Posts
Hi,

I am a member of a local hs group here in Florida and we just started the same type of weekly preschool meet-up, based around story time + an activity. We plan to meet at different houses once a week. I am hoping it'll fill our need for doing group stuff so that we (maybe just "I"?) don't feel isolated.

I would recommend seeking out the local groups... some have their own websites, or a tribe within MDC (look at Finding Your Tribe), or a Yahoo type group. More than likely they're out there... if not, you can start one!

· Registered
950 Posts
A few friends and I just started a group like this. We found each other through a few different ways- I met one mom at a local LLL meeting 4 years ago when our kids were babies. I met another through the first mom. Another through a yahoo group. Anyways, I'd try meetup.com, MDC finding your tribe, yahoo groups, LLL, API, local babywearers meetings.