Mothering Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm at 12 weeks 2 days and am still sleeping on my stomach. I don't think I start out that way, I'm usually on my hip and then find myself on my stomach (and, my aching boobs) in the morning. Is there anything wrong with that? And, then sometimes I find myself on my back. I don't think I spend a lot of time on my back (I dont' usually sleep like that), and I've heard that you'll feel it before spending too much time on your back can harm the baby. This may all sound silly, but as you can tell, I'm a newbie at the whole pregnancy thing, so if any of you wise mammas out there have any thoughts on any of this, I'd love to hear them.

Also, I'm thinking of investing in a pregnancy pillow. Anyone have a brand to recommend? Only thing is, I think the pillow and me together could end up ousting my husband out of the bed! I wish we had a king!!

·
Registered
1,318 Posts
I slept on my stomach for a long time with dd. I think until 16 weeks or so. Your body will tell you when to stop sleeping on your stomach and back. I never had a pregnancy pillow. I used 3 or 4 regular pillows around me. I think I prefered that, because I could adjust them more. Anyway, listen to your body and do what feels comfortable.

·
Registered
1,661 Posts
I still sleep on my tummy, not for much longer though
With my last pg's my dh bought me a body pillow and oh.....it was heaven. I think it was for his own sanity, it kept me from flopping around (very ungracefully I might add
) all night. I don't know where it's gone, I suspect it was donated when we moved so I will have to buy another one

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies -- glad to hear that its normal and I'm not squooshing anything I shouldn't be!

Let me know if you think of where you found that pillow! I guess if the bed gets too crowded for my hubbie, there is always the couch!

·
Registered
4,928 Posts