Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

· Registered
1,669 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This isn't a very big problem, since it's been going on for a year or two and I'm just now posting about it... but my uncircumcised son is stinky. He's almost three, cloth diapered but more than halfway potty trained at this point, and he likes to run around naked, but he smells bad when he does! I don't give him a bath every day, and maybe that has something to do with it, but I noticed the other day that he still smells even right after he gets out of the tub! He doesn't retract, and we've never tried to clean under the foreskin or anything like that. Do all little boys smell this way? (I only have one child, so I don't have any comparison.) Could it be some kind of yeast imbalance or something? Would probiotics help? I'm not good at describing smells... but I don't think it smells yeasty, just... well, like a dirty penis, I guess.
(TMI!)

· Registered
14,304 Posts
I have never noticed that with ds just a stale urine smell sometimes. You might be onto something about the imbalance but I dont much about those types of things.

· Registered
3,041 Posts
My boys are both intact and I never noticed any bad smell when they were little.

Sometimes smells linger in the skin. I wear a wrist brace to bed at night, and my hand usually smells bad in the morning (sweat, etc). It takes two or three good washings with soap and warm water to get rid of the smell. Maybe your son needs more lathering than he's currently getting; especially if he's not bathed every day.

· Registered
8,874 Posts
My son is 5.5yo and intact. I have never noticed any smell at all. Are you sure it's coming from his penis and just not from his diaper-covered skin? Diapers can hold the smells and since they are against his skin all day? I don't know. Maybe try a "bottom" bath every day and see if it makes any difference. Also, strip your cd just to be sure they aren't holding in any stinkies.

· Registered