Mothering Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been back at work and taking baby with me since he was 6 weeks old. Now he's starting to be more active and therefore more in need of real interaction. What did you all do to make the work environment more tolerable for your dc? (I don't have anything like a swing or a playpen yet just his carseat and some toys.)

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Oh no, I refuse to believe that no one has any advice for me! I am seriously trying to find a way to make this work- and am afraid that I may lose work (I'm a freelancer) if I can't find a way to keep ds happy at the office. Right now I am exhausted and feel like a bad mother and a bad employee. No one has had this same situation??? What did you do? Are gadgets (swings and things) the answer? Help.

·
Premium Member
7,581 Posts
Sorry ecommi that you are not getting responses! I have not tried to do this formally with a baby IN my workplace. I often try to do some of my work from home, so I do know well the challenge of trying to get ANYTHING done with a baby about. In fact right now my 2 y.o. is on my lap trying to 'help me.' But I haven't had to try to keep a baby occupied while working with others that might be caring how the baby is reacting.

HOw about a big blanket spread out with different toys on it, so your baby can spread out more than in the carseat? I would suggest that a swing and/or a "bouncy seat" might also be good. Sometimes babies get too overstimulated by all the gizmos on those so get one that you can take off the toy bar. Consignment and thrift shops usually sell these items second hand. A good sling for when baby is fussy and needs to nurse?

I really hope this can work out for you as it sounds like an ideal arrangement!

·
Registered
7,085 Posts