Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What about a teen who may be on the brink of "dropping out" of high school? "drop-out" has a very negative connotation. What are some of the postitive options to a traditional high school experience that you have experienced or know of? How can we rename the negative term "dropping-out"? How about "opting-out"?

Any suggestions?

Susie

·
Registered
5,203 Posts
I dropped out at 16 to get my GED and I am sooo glad I did! I got my bachelor's degree last year (at 22), after having spent 2 years travelling the US, Mexico, and Canada, and living on my own before starting college and having kids. I wouldn't go back and change a thing, dropping out was the best choice I made in high school! Also, I got a full scholarship and then some to college, I used the money to support myself and kids for 4 years.

·
Registered
213 Posts
I did that too. I dropped out at 15. I actually didn't do home-based learning though, I just kind of "found myself".
:

I think i needed it (although my poor mother who thought i was on my way to hell in a handbasket...). I did enjoy the social aspect of high school, but I just felt constrained. I went back when i was ready - at 18 and fast tracked through in 1.5 years. Got my bachelors, then masters, then a full scholarship for a PhD.

·
Registered
1,356 Posts
My husband decided not to finish high school. He just went out one day and got a full-time job, and he worked until he could figure out what he REALLY wanted to do. He got his GED, and after 3 years went on to college. He ultimately became an attorney. Dropping out of school does not have to equal "failure".

I second The Teenage Liberation Handbook. It was a great resource for me when it looked like my daughter might not finish high school.

·
Registered
237 Posts
: